In an open letter to EIMA members and proponents of EIFS, the association’s Executive Director David Johnston wrote to the industry with a call to action.

The legislation that will ban flame retardants in foam insulation continues to progress in the California legislature. Following its passage in the California Assembly and after being weakened by several amendments, the bill went to the California Senate where it was considered by the Committee on Business, Professions and Consumer Protection. That Senate committee passed the bill without amendment.

The bill was then referred to the Senate’s Appropriations Committee, which has scheduled a hearing on the bill for August 12th. The current, weaken version of the bill, if passed, provides that the California State Fire Marshall will assess whether flame retardants provide a benefit. The bill also provides that the Fire Marshall should make a recommendation as to if flame retardants should be banned.

EIMA and the Energy Efficient Foam Coalition are both opposed to this bill and are actively fighting against its adoption. The association is asking individuals to fax a letter to members of the California Senate’s Appropriations Committee expressing their opposition to the adoption of this bill. A list of those seven members who sit on this committee is below, along with contact information for them. Please fax this letter before Monday, August 12th. (A sample letter is attached for your use—click here.)

It is important to send the letter on your company’s letterhead rather than attempting to adapt it.

If you have time, please send a copy of your letter to or to Tim Shestek at of the American Chemistry Council who is coordinating this effort for the Energy Efficient Foam Coalition.


[Here is a list of those seven members:]

California Senate Appropriations Committee

Senator Kevin de Leon (D) – Chair  -  California Senate, State Capitol – Room 5105, Sacramento, CA  95814-4900

Phone: (916) 651-4022

Fax: (916) 327-8817

District Office Phone (Los Angeles):  (213) 483-9300

District 22: Alhambra, Los Angeles, Maywood, San Marino, South Pasadena, Vernon


Senator Mimi Walters (R) – Vice-Chair - California Senate, State Capitol – Room 3086, Sacramento, CA  95814-4900

Phone: (916) 651-4037

Fax: (916) 445-9754

District Office Phone (Irvine):  (949) 223-5037

District 37: Anaheim, Costa Mesa, Huntington Beach, Irvine, Laguna Beach, Laguna Woods, Lake Forest, Newport Beach, Orange, Tustin


Senator Ted Gaines (R) - California Senate, State Capitol – Room 3070, Sacramento, CA  95814-4900

Phone: (916) 651-4001

Fax: (916) 324-2680

District Office Phone (El Dorado Hills):  (916) 933-7213

District Office Phone (Redding):  (530) 225-3142

District 1: Alturas, Auburn, Fair Oaks, Folsom, Grass Valley, Orangevale, Placerville, Redding, Rancho Cordova, Shingle Springs, South Lake Tahoe, Susanville, Truckee


Senator Jerry Hill (D) - California Senate, State Capitol – Room 5064, Sacramento, CA  95814-4900

Phone: (916) 651-4013

Fax: (916) 445-0485

District Office Phone (San Mateo):  (650) 212-3313

District 13: Mountain View, Palo Alto, Redwood City, San Bruno, San Mateo, Santa Clara, South San Francisco, Sunnyvale


Senator Ricardo Lara (D) - California Senate, State Capitol – Room 5050, Sacramento, CA  95814-4900

Phone: (916) 651-4033

Fax: (916) 327-9113

District Office Phone (Long Beach):  (562) 495-4766

District 33: Bell, Bell Gardens, Cudahy, Huntington Park, Lakewood, Long Beach, South Los Angeles, Lynwood, Maywood, Paramount, Signal Hill, South Gate, Vernon, Walnut Park


Senator Alex Padilla (D) - California Senate, State Capitol – Room 4038, Sacramento, CA  95814-4900

Phone: (916) 651-4020

Fax: (916) 324-6645

District Office Phone (Van Nuys):  (818) 901-5588

District 20: Canoga Park, North Hills, North Hollywood, Northridge, Pacoima, San Fernando, Sun Valley, Sylmar, Van Nuys, Winnetka


Senator Darrell Steinberg (D) - California Senate, State Capitol – Room 205, Sacramento, CA  95814-4900

Phone: (916) 651-4006

Fax: (916) 323-2263

District Office Phone (Sacramento):  (916) 651-1529

District 6: Antelope, Arden-Arcade, Citrus Heights, Elverta, North Highlands, Rancho Cordova, Rio Linda, Rosemont, Sacramento