Dokk1 in Aarhus, Denmark, designed by Schmidt Hammer Lassen Architects, was announced winner of the Public Library of the Year Award 2016 at a ceremony during the International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions (IFLA) congress in Columbus, Ohio. The international panel of judges recognized Dokk1 as a true library of the future that embraces new digital developments, user demands, local culture, and a desire to accommodate diverse population groups within an open and functional architectural expression.
Dokk1 triumphed over libraries from Australia and the United States, becoming the first Danish library to receive this prestigious prize. 
Completed in June 2015, Dokk1 opened as the largest public library in Scandinavia housing a citizen service centre, office space, automated parking for 1,000 cars and new harbour-side public squares. Situated at the mouth of the Aarhus River in one of the most prominent sites of the city centre of Aarhus, the 35,600m2 building is designed as a place for exchanging knowledge and opportunities and a multicultural meeting point. Dokk1's popularity was instant; within 7 months of its opening Dokk1 had welcomed in excess of one million visitors.
"Dokk1 is a covered urban square - an undulating landscape that facilitates learning, knowledge sharing, innovation and a sense of community. Our goal has been to create a stimulating and dynamic environment at this unique location that fosters valuable and meaningful relationships between people; a cultural centre that everyone can see themselves in. Architecture, with all its supporting disciplines has served to fulfil this greater ambition and we have been overwhelmed by how the people of Aarhus have embraced Dokk1 since opening day", says Senior Partner Kim Holst Jensen, Schmidt Hammer Lassen Architects.

Jury comments

"With its unique and central location in the city, the library has become a key element in the forward-looking strategy for creating more life by the harbor, which used to be a practically deserted area. It is evident that accessibility has been given high priority, not only in the positioning of the library, but also in the many outdoor areas and staircases that provide access to the building from all sides. This is supported by the shape and facade cladding of the building, which has no back, but has been given a primary facade on every side. In both the interior and the exterior, a classical construction element, the staircase, has been used as both a functional necessity and a place for meeting and resting."
"The jury also finds great architectural value in the simple and consistent choice of materials throughout the building, which adapts naturally to the harbour environment. Furthermore, the materials are of a high quality without being ostentatious, which makes the building stand out as a place of diversity with room for everybody."
Schmidt Hammer Lassen Architects are internationally acclaimed for its open and public approach to architecture and has an extensive track-record of designing libraries; including the extension to the Royal Library in Copenhagen, Denmark, the RIBA Award-winning Sir Duncan Rice Library, University of Aberdeen, UK and the Governor General's Medal winning Halifax Central Library in Nova Scotia, Canada. Current library designs are under construction in Ningbo China as well as Christchurch, New Zealand. This year, the practice won its first major project in Australia with the major re-development of State Library Victoria in Melbourne. 

About the Prize

The ’Systematic – Public Library of the Year’ award is an international library prize that is given to the best new public library in the world. The new library must take into consideration new digital developments, the needs and desires of users, the local culture, and the desire to accommodate a diverse population group with an open and functional architectural expression.
The prize is a part of the Model Program for Public Libraries project, which was established by the Danish Agency for Culture and Palaces and Realdania.
The prize is sponsored by the IT firm Systematic.
Read more about the libraries nominated, the members of the panel of judges, and the library of the future at the Model Programme’s homepage.