Papers are invited for the Symposium on Building Science and the Physics of Building Enclosure Performance, October 21, 2018, at the Washington Hilton, Washington, D.C., USA. The symposium is cosponsored by ASTM International’s Committee on Performance of Buildings (E06) and Committee on Roofing and Waterproofing (D08), and will take place in conjunction with the October standards development meetings of Committee E06.

The symposium will provide a forum for the exchange of ideas on current research regarding building science and the physics of building enclosure performance, with an emphasis on testing and assessment of heat, air, and moisture transfer, energy use, and the environment. Topics for the symposium may include but are not limited to:

  • Interface detailing and continuity of environmental control layers nad their impact on whole building performance,
  • Critical review of E06 and D08 standards and how.why they fail to correlate or are in conflict,
  • Definition and enforcement of durability,
  • Building physics and conservation and preservation,
  • Case studies that illustrate the good, bad, and ugly, and
  • Review of lessons learned.

To participate in the symposium, authors must submit a 250-300 word preliminary abstract no later than September 29, 2017. The abstract must include a clear definition of the objective and approach of the work discussed, pointing out material that is new, and present sufficient details regarding results. The presentation and manuscript must not be of a commercial nature nor can it have been previously published. Because a limited number of abstracts will be accepted, be sure that the abstract is complete to allow for careful assessment of the paper's suitability for this symposium. The Symposium Chairmen will notify you via postal mail by November 24, 2017, of your paper’s acceptability for presentation at the symposium.

Registration questions can be directed to Tessa Sulkes (see below). For technical information or questions, contact symposium chairman Dan Lemieux (, or co-chair Jennifer Keegan ( For more information, please visit