The American Society of Interior Designers (ASID) has announced the winners of the 2020 ASID National Awards, the Society’s prestigious professional recognition honoring those who are transforming the world through design and innovation. The winners of the 2020 ASID National Awards are: Kay Sargent, Senior Principal and Director of Workplace for HOK (Designer of Distinction); George Bandy Jr., Chief Sustainability Officer of Mohawk Flooring North America (Design for Humanity), Material Bank (Design Innovation), and Barbara J. Huelat, Author, Interior Designer, Healing Design Strategist (Nancy Vincent McClelland Merit).

“The individuals and organizations receiving this year's ASID National Awards epitomize the Society's 'Design Impacts Lives' mission," remarks Randy W. Fiser, Hon. FASID, ASID CEO. "Leading by example, they show the profound effects that design can have on communities and people. Their immense dedication and visionary innovation continually shape the industry for the better, and we are thrilled to celebrate their achievements."

Winners will be honored at the awards gala, Spotlight: Illuminating Great Design, on March 29 in Scottsdale, AZ at the inaugural edition of The WELL Conference. Ed O’Keefe, CBS News Political Correspondent, will serve as the master of ceremonies. The awards presentations are sponsored by Cosentino and Sherwin-Williams.

The ASID National Awards are presented within four categories: Designer of Distinction, Design for Humanity, Design Innovation, and the Nancy Vincent McClelland Merit award.


The Designer of Distinction award is bestowed on an ASID professional member who exemplifies a commitment to the profession as demonstrated by a significant body of work representing excellence in interior design. This award celebrates attention to social concerns within the interior design profession and the expression of creative, innovative concepts that have advanced the profession and helped transform lives. This year’s recipient is Kay Sargent, ASID, CID, LEED AP, MCR/w, WELL AP, Senior Principal and Director of Workplace for HOK.

Kay is a recognized expert on workplace design and strategy. She is an industry thought leader on workplace and travels globally sharing from her broad experience. Kay has authored multiple white papers and articles on design related topics including wellbeing; next gen workforce; technologies impact on the workplace; space fusion and the rise of the human factor. Throughout her career she has served on almost every global or national board that represents the design community – ASID, NCQLP, IIDA, IFI, CoreNet, IWBI, IFMA and volunteered for CIDQ and FIDER. As Co-Director of HOK’s Workplace team, Kay is responsible for helping clients redefine how, when and where their people work, and supports a holistic design approach that integrates people, processes and technology.

The Design for Humanity award celebrates an individual or institution for having significantly contributed to improving the environment for humanity through design-related activities or projects that transform lives. This award includes, but is not limited to, environment, health and wellness, universal or barrier-free design, energy conservation, safety, communication, transportation, and technology. This year’s recipient is George Bandy Jr., Chief Sustainability Officer of Mohawk Flooring North America.

George is the chief sustainability officer for Mohawk Flooring North America, where he is responsible for managing the comprehensive concepts and practices of sustainability throughout the company and its family of brands, including Mohawk Group and Durkan. He proactively identifies opportunities to position environmental, economic and socially responsible solutions for both the organization and its customers so that, together, they can demonstrate the type of sustainability leadership that will result in a brighter future for all.

George is an influential and highly sought after presenter on key topics such as biophilic design, health and wellness in the built environment, social sustainability, innovative smart and healthy design, the business of sustainability, circular economy and greening the supply chain. National Awards jurors noted that George’s powerful presentations move people to become sustainability advocates.

The Design Innovation award recognizes an individual, organization, manufacturer, or research project for having produced a significant and innovative product, project, or body of work that contributes to interior design by positively impacting human behavior; promoting comfort, efficiency, or communication; exemplifying a commitment to the profession; exhibiting a commitment to sustainability, health, and wellness; and displaying an overall appreciation for design. This year’s recipient is Material Bank (launched by Adam Sandow).

Material Bank is the fastest and most powerful way for design professionals to search and sample materials. Through Material Bank’s powerful platform, designers and architects can conduct complex searches across hundreds of brands and thousands of materials in seconds. In addition to the convenience and time-savings this affords, Material Bank also aggregates the materials - eliminating wasteful packaging and shipping resources and promoting a sustainable reclamation program.

The Nancy Vincent McClelland Merit award honors individuals, organizations, manufacturers, or projects for outstanding support of the interior design profession through education, research, or promotion of the impact of design. This award pays tribute to Nancy Vincent McClelland, an ardent advocate for professional recognition in interior design and the first woman president of the American Institute of Decorators (now ASID). This year’s recipient is Barbara J. Huelat, FASID, EDAC, AAHID, Author, Interior Designer, Healing Design Strategist.

Barbara is one of the field’s preeminent experts and a prominent speaker on healthcare design and technology. She is a founding board member of the Center for Health Design, Former National President of American Academy of Healthcare Interior Designers and author of two nationally acclaimed books – Healing Environments: What’s the Proof and Healing Environments for the Mind, Body and Spirit.

Her three decades of design experience cover virtually all types, components and sizes of domestic and international healthcare facilities, including her signature projects with the Mayo Clinics, National Institutes of Health, National Cancer Institute of Japan, and many more.

The ASID National Award winners are selected by a panel of judges comprised of professional members and representatives from the design community. For more information on the ASID National Awards, please visit For more details on Spotlight and for ticketing information, please visit