The Gypsum Association announces the election of the following officers from the Board of Directors for 2009-2010. The officers were elected at the recent meeting of the association’s Board of Directors in Nashville at this year’s AWCI convention.

Chairman – Charles J. Poandl, Vice President, Customer Value, Logistics, and Public Affairs Gypsum Division, Lafarge North America Inc., Herndon, Virginia;

Past Chairman – Gerard P. Carroll, Senior Vice President, Manufacturing Operations and Engineering, National Gypsum Company, Charlotte, North Carolina;

First Vice-Chairman – Stephen P. Raley, Vice President, Gypsum, Temple-Inland, Diboll, Texas;

Second Vice-Chairman – Leo J. Bissonnette, Director of Innovation, Georgia-Pacific Gypsum LLC, Atlanta, Georgia;

Treasurer – John K. Donaldson, President, CertainTeed Gypsum, Inc., Tampa, Florida, and;

Secretary – Michael A. Gardner, Executive Director, Gypsum Association, Hyattsville, Maryland.

The American Concrete Institute introduced its new president, vice president, and four board members during the ACI Spring 2009 Convention in San Antonio, Texas.

New ACI President Florian G. Barth officially assumed his one-year term, and new Vice President Kenneth C. Hover began his two-year term, while four new board members began their three-year terms.

Elected as a new member of ACI’s Board of Direction is Dennis C. Ahal.

Emmanuel K. Attiogbe has also begun his post as a member of ACI’s Board of Direction.

Also joining the ACI Board of Direction for the first time is Ron Klemencic.

Joseph C. Sanders, a 30-year veteran in the field of construction, also joins.