The American Concrete Institute (ACI) announces the winners of its Egg Protection Device Competition, and Eco Concrete Competition. The competitions took place at the ACI Fall 2017 Convention in Anaheim, Calif. The first, second, third and fourth place teams received cash awards.

The objective of the egg protection device is to design and build the highest-impact-load resistant plain or reinforced concrete egg protection device, and to learn about concrete’s sustainable benefits related to durability, impact resistance, and other real-life aspects that an egg protection device simulates.

1st Place: Universidad Nacional de Ingeniería:  Kevin Arturo Laines Velarde, Ronald Bryan Valderrama Castro, Alex Condori Salluca, Christiams Jesús Santos Accor, Jason Luis Villalobos Pineda

Faculty Advisor –Ing. José C. Masías Guillén

2nd Place: Universidad Autónoma Metropolitana - Azcapotzalco: Leiding Guadalupe García Gutiérrez, Allyson Melisa López Díaz, Juan Carlos Hernández Mora, Eduardo Osorio Rosas, Juan Carlos Trejo Juárez, José Luis Vivar Emiterio

Faculty Advisor M. E. José Juan Guerrero Correa

3rd Place: San Jose State University: Amer Zreika, Andrea Coto, Carmen Cutay, Jesus Ramos, Komalpreet Kaur, Rami Zayed

Faculty Advisor – Dr. Akthem Al-Manaseer

The objective of the Eco Concrete Competition is to promote the idea of environmental performance in concrete mixture design as an important aspect of sustainability. Teams had the mission to develop an innovative concrete mixture, which had the lowest possible environmental impacts while maintaining optimal, mechanical, and durability performances.

1st Place: University of Sherbrooke: Cedric Gauthier, Charles-Etienne Bouchard, Philippe Dubois,

Sebastien Cloutier, Redha Esselami

Faculty Advisor – Arezki Tagnit-Hamou

2nd Place: Valparaiso University: Rebecca Valliere, Jeffrey Moore, Grace Jackson

Faculty Advisor – Jacob Henschen

3rd Place: New Jersey Institute of Technology: Jennifer Guerrero, Stephon De Silva, Nikolaos Benyamin, and Marco Fernandez.

Faculty Advisor – Anlee Orama

4th Place: California State University, Chico: Hayden Kaae, Cody Stauffer, Danny Lakowski, Steve Smythe, Damien Bonis

Faculty Advisor – Dr. Mohammed Albahttiti


For more information on ACI’s Student Competitions, please visit