During the recent International Code Council annual business meeting in St. Louis, American Wood Council South Central Region Director David P. Tyree, P.E., C.B.O., was presented with a lifetime honorary membership in recognition of his exceptional contributions to ICC.

“Dave has done exceptional work in model code development with service to the building code community and the wood products industry,” said AWC President and CEO Jackson Morrill. “His recognition as an ICC lifetime honorary member for service to ICC is a testament to the significant contribution Dave has made in development of model code requirements in the United States.”

Tyree’s leadership in code development includes three terms as chair of the International Building Code Structural Committee, one term as chair of the International Residential Code Building Committee and one term on the ICC Life Safety Committee; as subgroup chair of California State Fire Marshals Wildland Urban Interface Task Force; and as a leader of the AWC WUI task group working on development of WUI codes.

Tyree is a former recipient of the John Fies Industry Award from the International Conference of Building Officials, Colorado Chapter ICC Beryl Wallace Award, Industry Person of the Year Award by the Sacramento Valley Chapter of ICC, Industry Person of the Year Award by the County Building Officials Association of California and was awarded honorary membership by the Colorado Chapter of ICC.

Through participation and leadership in ICC committees, boards and councils, Tyree has helped shape the development and revision of building codes and ensured that the ICC’s codes remain current and aligned with industry advancements. Moreover, Tyree’s peers have recognized him for bringing technical expertise, sincerity, respect for others, and respect for the code development process and endeavors of ICC to advance public safety and welfare.

Tyree joins a distinguished group of code professionals recognized for outstanding service to the ICC. The discerning process for award of ICC lifetime honorary membership involves nomination by peers, selection by the ICC Board of Directors, and approval by governmental voting representatives.